Skip to content Skip to navigation

Marc Feldman receives 2019-20 Biosciences Mentoring Award

Picture of Marc Feldman
Jun 2 2020

Posted In:

Awards, Faculty

Congratulations to Professor Marc Feldman on receiving the 2019-20 Stanford Biosciences “Excellence in Mentoring and Service Award”. This honor is given to faculty who make distinguished contributions towards enhancing the quality of training and the mentoring experiences for Stanford Biosciences graduate students.

Feldman's  mentorship has defined the whole field of theoretical biology; it is truly unmatched.  In addition to 3 faculty members in the Biology Department: Hunter Fraser, Noah Rosenberg, and Jonathan Pritchard, Feldman has trained scores of scientists who now define and lead the field. 

To mention just a fraction who are currently faculty members, along with their current institutions: Lee Altenberg (U Hawaii), Lauren Ancel (U Texas), Aviv Bergman (Albert Einstein), Ronald Burton (UCSD), Oana Carja (Carnegie Mellon), Andrew Clark (Cornell), Nicole Creanza (Vanderbilt), Michael Desai (Harvard), David Goldstein (Columbia), Ben Kerr (U Washington), Laurent Lehmann (U Lausanne), Joanna Masel (U Arizona), Sally Otto (UBC), Sohini Ramachandran (Brown), Guy Sella (Columbia),  Mark Tanaka (UNSW), Marcy Uyenoyama (Duke), Jeremy Van Cleve (U Kentucky), and Daniel Weissman (Emory).