Skip to content Skip to navigation

Marc Tessier-Lavigne named an Officer of the Order of Canada

Picture of President Marc Tessier-Lavigne

President Marc Tessier-Lavigne is among 21 new Officer appointments to the Order of Canada.

L.A. Cicero
Nov 30 2020

Posted In:


Stanford University President Marc has been appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada, one of that nation’s highest honors. Tessier-Lavigne, who is the Bing Presidential Professor at Stanford, is a native of Ontario, Canada, and holds dual U.S. and Canadian citizenship. He is among 21 new Officer appointments to the Order of Canada.

The award, which was announced today by the Office of the Governor General of Canada, recognized Tessier-Lavigne “for his groundbreaking contributions to developmental neuroscience, and for his renowned academic leadership and strong advocacy of science.”

“I am profoundly honored to be appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada, alongside fellow citizens who have made remarkable contributions to the life of the country,” he said. “I believe deeply in the value of scientific inquiry and the importance of higher education, so I am gratified to be recognized for my contributions to developmental neuroscience, and for my advocacy for science and for great institutions of learning more broadly. I’m especially grateful to the many talented colleagues I have had the privilege of working with in pursuit of these goals.”

A renowned neuroscientist, Tessier-Lavigne is a world leader in the study of brain development and repair. He and his colleagues revealed how neural circuits in the brain form during embryonic development by identifying molecules that direct the formation of connections among nerve cells. Defects in these mechanisms lead to neurological disorders. These mechanisms also provide targets to assist regeneration of nerve connections after trauma. His research has also focused on the causes and treatment of degenerative brain diseases such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s.

His contributions have been recognized through numerous awards and honors, including the 2020 Gruber Neuroscience Prize, and he has been elected a Member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Philosophical Society, and a Fellow of the Royal Society, the Royal Society of Canada, the Academy of Medical Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.